T20 World Cup 2021: Gautam Gambhir picks India’s playing XI for match against Pakistan

India will take on Pakistan on October 24 at the Dubai International Stadium. The two arch-rivals have come face to face 11 times in the World Cups and India emerged victorious on every single occasion. While the Men in Green would like to defeat India for the first time, India would be looking forward to extending the dominance.

During a discussion on the Star Sports show Follow the Blues, former Indian opener Gautam Gambhir picked his Indian side for the big clash.

Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant and Hardik Pandya were part of the Playing XI. The veteran selected Varun Chakravarthy and Ravindra Jadeja as the two spinners. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, and Jasprit Bumrah completed the bowling unit.

“KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma to open the batting, Virat Kohli to bat at No.3, Suryakumar Yadav at No.4, Rishabh Pant at No.5, Hardik at No.6, Jadeja at No.7, Bhuvi at No.8, Varun Chakravarthy at No.9, Shami at No.10 and Bumrah No.11,” he said.

He would have gone with Shardul Thakur instead of Bhuvneshwar Kumar had the new sensation was in the squad. “Probably had I had Shardul Thakur, I would have picked him to bat at No.8 and Varun Chakravarthy at No.9 and then I could have probably gone with Shami and Bumrah,” the 39-year-old.

Gautam Gambhir’s India XI

Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Varun Chakravarthy, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah