Rohit named the T20I captain, Virat, Bumrah, Shami rested from T20I series against New Zealand

The All-India Senior Selection Committee has picked a 16-member squad for the upcoming T20I series against New Zealand. India are set to play 3 T20Is starting from 17th November 2021.

As expected Rohit Sharma is Team India’s new skipper in the shortest format of the game. Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja and Mohammed Shami have been rested for the upcoming T20I series against the Kiwis. All these players were in action in the ICC T20 World Cup.

Rahul Chahar and Varun Chakravarthy have failed to find a place in the 16-member squad. Hardik Pandya was not considered because of his fitness issues.

The selectors have selected Venkatesh Iyer while recalling Ruturaj Gaikwad, Mohammed Siraj and Yuzvendra Chahal.

India’s T20I squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Mohd. Siraj