IND vs NZ – 4 captains used in two-match Test series for 1st time in 132 years

Virat Kohli and Tom Latham are leading India and New Zealand respectively in the second Test at the Wankhede stadium. The ongoing series between the two nations is the first two-match rubber since 1889, where four captains have featured. While Ajinkya Rahae was India’s captain in the first Test, Kane Williamson led the Kiwis in Kanpur.

Both of them were ruled out of the second match in Mumbai. England’s skipper Aubrey Smith couldn’t play after the first match, and Monty Bowden captained the team in the second.

South Africa, meanwhile, were captained by Owen Dunnell in the first match while the captaincy armband was given to William Milton in the second, with both players playing in both Tests.