ICC T20 World Cup – Winners to take home 12 crore

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Sunday announced that the winner of the men’s T20 World Cup 2021 will take home prize money of 1.6 million dollars ( almost 12 crore) while the runners-up will pocket 8 lakh dollars ( almost 6 crore).

“The winners of the 2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will be awarded prize money of $1.6 million while the runners-up will take home $800,000,” the ICC’s statement read. The release adds that the team which will crash out in the Super12s will be awarded Rs 52.50 lakh (approx).

All 16 competing teams will receive part of the US $5.6m allocated as prize money for the global event.

The two losing semi-finalists will get $400,000 ( 3 crore) each.

The governing body will give a bonus amount for every win in the Super 12 stage. The wins in each of the 30 games in that phase will get $40,000, a total pot of $1,200,000.

Afghanistan, Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and the West Indies are part of the Super 12 stage.

The same structure will be followed in the qualifying round – with $40,000 available to those who win each of the 12 games, amounting to $480,000.

Even the four teams knocked out of the qualifying round will get $40,000 each from an overall $ 160,000.

Bangladesh, Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, and Sri Lanka will compete in the qualifying round.