ICC T20 World Cup – Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bowl first

Sri Lanka won the toss and have decided to bowl first. Bangladesh and Sri Lanka have qualified for the Super 12 stage after going through the qualifying round against the lower-ranked teams in the T20 format of the game.

These two teams have met once in the global event of T20 format. Sri Lanka won that game by 64 runs in 2007. Five of this year’s top eight T20I wicket-takers (from among Super 12 nations) are playing in this game: Wanindu Hasaranga (26 wickets), Mustafizur (24), Shakib (23), Mahedi (19), and Chameera (18).

Shakib-al-Hasan is tied for the most wickets in the history of the T20 World with former Pakistan skipper Shahid Afridi. They have 39 wickets each.

Bangladesh have a more settled unit and the tigers could trouble the Lankans in today’s game.

Sri Lanka Playing XI: 1 Pathum Nissanka, 2 Kusal Perera (wk), 3 Charith Asalanka, 4 Avishka Fernando, 5 Bhanuka Rajapaksa, 6 Dasun Shanaka (capt.), 7 Chamika Karunaratne, 8 Wanindu Hasaranga, 9 Binura Fernando, 10 Dushmantha Chameera, 11 Lahiru Kumara

Bangladesh Playing XI: 1 Mohammad Naim, 2 Liton Das, 3 Shakib Al Hasan, 4 Mushfiqur Rahim, 5 Mahmudullah (capt), 6 Afif Hossain, 7 Nurul Hasan (wk), 8 Mahedi Hasan, 9 Mohammad Saifuddin, 10 Nasum Ahmed, 11 Mustafizur Rahman