ICC T20 World Cup – South Africa won the toss and are fielding first

South Africa won the toss and have decided to field first. South Africa and West Indies were defeated by rivals in their opening games of the ICC T20 World Cup. While South Africa underperformed against Australia, West Indies were given a thumping by England. Meanwhile, West Indies and South Africa have played against each other three times at the ICC T20 World Cup, in 2007, 2009 and 2016, with West Indies winning the last two of those games.

West Indies lowest total in a T20I is 45, against England in 2019. South Africa’s lowest total is 89, against Australia in 2020.

Despite West Indies’ collapse in Dubai, the match between India and Pakistan showed that the pitch is good for batting. The conditions will be hot and humid with no risk of dew in the early match.

South Africa: (Playing XI) 1 Reeza Hendricks, 2 Temba Bavuma (capt), 3 Aiden Markram, 4 Rassie van der Dussen, 5 David Miller, 6 Heinrich Klaasen (wk)s, 7 Kagiso Rabada, 8 Keshav Maharaj, 9 Lungi Ngidi, 10 Anrich Nortje, 11 Tabraiz Shamsi

West Indies: (Playing XI) 1 Evin Lewis, 2 Chris Gayle, 3 Lendl Simmons, 4 Shimron Hetmyer, 5 Nicholas Pooran (wk), 6 Kieron Pollard, 7 Andre Russell, 8 Dwayne Bravo 9 Akeal Hosein, 10 Hayden Walsh, Ravi Rampaul