ICC T20 World Cup – Shoaib Malik replaces injured Sohaib Maqsood in Pakistan squad

Shoaib Malik, the former Pakistan skipper, has been named in the ICC T20 World Cup squad after Sohaib Maqsood was ruled out due to a back injury.

“Sohaib is devastated to miss out on the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup as he had worked hard for this event and was in sparkling form. We feel for him but injuries are part and parcel of the sport. I am sure after undergoing rehabilitation, he’ll fully recover to be available for future assignments,” Chief selector Muhammad Wasim said.

“In his place and following discussions with the team management, we have decided to include Shoaib Malik in the side. I am sure Shoaib’s experience will be handy for the entire squad.”

Shoaib Malik captained Pakistan in the inaugural event in 2007 and was a part of the team that won the trophy in 2009. After missing the T20 World Cup in 2010, he played in 2012, 2014 and 2016 tournaments.

Squad: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim junior, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Afridi, Shoaib Malik.

Travelling reserves: Khushdil Shah, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir.