ICC T20 World Cup – Pakistan won the toss and are bowling first

Pakistan have won the toss and are bowling first. Pakistan are flying high after defeating India by 10 wickets in their opening match of the ICC T20 World Cup. This might not be the best time for New Zealand to compete against the Men in Green.

Pakistan have won three of the five T20 World Cup matches against the Kiwis, though the Kane Williamson-led team defeated Pakistan in the last encounter in Mohali in 2016.

Kiwi pacer Tim Southee is one wicket away from becoming the third bowler with 100 T20I wickets after Shakib al Hasan and Lasith Malinga.

While Pakistan are looking solid in every department of the game, New Zealand will have to play Shaheen Afridi smartly. He was the main reason behind Pakistan’s victory over India.

The pitch at Sharjah will favour the batters but dew might play an important part in the match. Fielding first could be the norm of the day.

Pakistan: (Playing XI): 1 Babar Azam (capt) 2 Mohammad Rizwan (wk) 3 Fakhar Zaman 4 Mohammad Hafeez 5 Shoaib Malik 6 Asif Ali 7 Shadab Khan 8 Imad Wasim 9 Hasan Ali 10 Haris Rauf 11 Shaheen Shah Afridi

New Zealand (Playing XI): 1 Martin Guptill 2 Devon Conway 3 Glenn Phillips 4 Kane Williamson (capt.), 5 Tim Seifert (wk) 6 Daryl Mitchell, 7 James Neesham, 7 Mitchell Santner 9 Tim Southee 10 Trent Boult, 11 Ish Sodhi.