ICC T20 World Cup, NZ vs SCO – Kyle Coetzer wins the toss and decides to bowl first

Scotland have won the toss and are bowling first. When Scotland last played against New Zealand in a T20I in 2009, Kane Williamson was a year away from making his international debut. Meanwhile, New Zealand were a class apart in the last game against India. After losing to Pakistan in their first game of the ICC T20 World Cup 2021, the Kiwis were unstoppable in the second clash.

The team led by Kane Williamson has an edge over Scotland and they are expected to win easily. Scotland, on the other hand, were blazing all guns in the qualifying round but have gone quiet in the Super 12 stage. This match will be important for India as well. If Scotland manage to upset New Zealand, it will open doors for the Men in Blue as far as the race for the semi-finals is concerned.

The Dubai surfaces have slowed down considerably, having hosted a lot of matches in IPL 2021.

Scotland ( Playing XI ):1 Kyle Coetzer (capt.), 2 George Munsey, 3 Matthew Cross (wk), 4 Richie Berrington, 5 Calum MacLeod, 6 Michael Leask, 7 Chris Greaves, 8 Mark Watt, 9 Safyaan Sharif, 10 Alasdair Evans, 11 Brad Wheal.

New Zealand (Playing XI): 1 Daryl Mitchell, 2 Martin Guptill, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Devon Conway (wk), 5 Glenn Phillips, 6 Jimmy Neesham, 7 Mitchell Santner, 8 Adam Milne, 9 Tim Southee, 10 Trent Boult/Kyle Jamieson, 11 Ish Sodhi