Australia restrict South Africa to a below-par 118

Australia started their ICC T20 World Cup campaign on a good note. The team led by Aaron Finch never allowed South Africa to break the shackles and restricted them to a below-par 118. Glenn Maxwell started the downfall of South Africa by dismissing skipper Temba Bavuma in the second over of the innings. Quinton de Kock, Rassie van der Dussen and Heinrich Klaasen failed to get going.

Aiden Markram (40) and David Miller (16) tried their best but the dismissal of the left-handed batter was the last nail in the coffin. The fall of regular wickets never allowed South Africa to get going in the match. While Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc and Adam Zampa took two wickets each. Glenn Maxwell and Pat Cummins added one each to their bowling figures.

Earlier, Aaron won the toss and asked South Africa to bat first.