10 major records which defined Virat Kohli’s T20I captaincy

Virat Kohli bid adieu as the Indian captain with the side ending its journey in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021. India finished third in Group 2 of the Super 12 stage and couldn’t qualify for the semis. One dream of Kohli in helping Team India win an ICC event ended with a blip. However, since taking over from MS Dhoni as India’s white-ball leader, Kohli has given us several top moments. He formed a great relationship with head coach Ravi Shastri and took India to new heights in T20Is.

Kohli has definitely left a legacy as India’s T20I skipper and his achievements cannot be ignored. Kohli bowed out as India’s T20I skipper, leading them in a total of 50 matches. He had taken over the mantle from Dhoni in January 2017. Most importantly, he has finished as India’s second-most successful skipper after MSD. Here we present 10 major feats which defined Kohli’s legacy as India’s T20I skipper.

Second-highest number of runs as a captain in T20Is

Kohli has amassed 3,227 runs in T20Is at a phenomenal average of 52.04. This is the best tally by a batter in T20Is. Notably, Kohli is the second-highest scorer in T20Is as a skipper. The 33-year-old went on to pile up 1,570 runs as a captain at a strike rate of 140.55. His tally is only behind Australian captain Aaron Finch, who has racked up 1,719 runs in 54 matches.

One of the seven skippers to lead in 50-plus matches

Kohli is one of the seven captains to lead in 50-plus matches in T20Is. Kohli is seventh on the list with 50 matches as captain. The likes of Dhoni (72), Eoin Morgan (69), WTS Porterfield (56), Finch (54), Kane Williamson (54), and Asghar Stanikzai (52) are above Kohli in this regard.

Second-best win percentage as captain (minimum 50-plus matches)

Kohli won 30 matches and lost 16. Two matches were tied and two more games didn’t have any result. Kohli enjoyed a win percentage of 64.58. This is the second-best tally among skippers with at least 50-plus matches. The best percentage is held by Stanikzai, who has a staggering 82.71 win percentage.

Best average among players leading in 30-plus T20I matches

Kohli holds a unique record in terms of batting average among captains to have led in at least 30-plus T20Is. Kohli averages 47.58 as captain which is the best. He is followed by Pakistan’s star sensation Babar Azam, who carries an average of 47.12.

Second-most 50-plus scores as captain

In his T20I career, Kohli has amassed 29 fifty-plus scores to date. He is followed by Rohit Sharma and Babar (24 each). However, 13 of his 50-plus scores in T20Is have come as a captain. This is the second-best tally after Babar (15). Kohli’s last fifty-plus score as captain came against Pakistan in the ICC T20 World Cup.

India enjoyed success under Kohli in overseas T20I series

Under the leadership of Kohli, the Indian cricket team earned several victories in the T20I series overseas. India claimed wins against South Africa and England away from home in 2018. In 2019, they thrashed WI 3-0. In 2020, India beat Australia and New Zealand away from home.

Third-highest score in an innings by an Indian captain

Kohli holds the record for the most runs in an innings by a T20I captain for Team India. Rohit Sharma holds the top two scores as India’s captain. He slammed a 43-ball 118 versus Sri Lanka in 2017. He also slammed a 61-ball 111* versus WI in 2018. Meanwhile, Kohli has the third-best score. He hit 94* off 50 balls versus WI in 2019.

Second-quickest to 1,000 T20I runs as captain

Kohli held the record for being the quickest to 1,000 T20I runs as captain. He achieved the mark in January 2020, taking a total of 30 innings. However, Pakistan skipper Babar broke Kohli’s record recently. Babar achieved the milestone in 26 innings.

Only Indian skipper to win T20I series in New Zealand

NZ remains one of the poor hunting destinations for India in cricket. In 2020, Kohli became the first-ever Indian captain to win a T20I series in New Zealand. India tamed the Kiwis 5-0. Prior to that, India toured NZ in 2019 and lost the T20I series 2-1. In 2009, India had lost 2-0 against NZ under MSD.

Longest win streak

Kohli led India to 10 T20I wins in a row. This is India’s longest T20I winning streak. Also, Kohli is the only Indian T20I skipper to win a series in all SENA nations.